McCann Gets It Right

I’ve been reading Colum McCann’s 2009 National Book Award-winner Let The Great World Spin, a novel about the interconnected lives of people in 1974 New York.  It reads like a series of exquisitely-done short stories strung together, a quality which may account for the love it-or-hate it reviews that came out after its publication, but for now, let me say this one thing that has struck me in my reading of it.

I had heard of McCann as a poet and had read several articles about the transplanted Irishman before I ever picked up his novel.  In one of the interviews McCann has given–the guy’s a great interview–he speaks of the difficulty of getting right the voice of an important character, Tillie, the incarcerated prostitute-mother of yet another prostitute, Jazzlyn, in the story:

“It took me a long time to get the voice of Tillie. It was four or five months. I went out with the writer and Bronx police detective Ed Conlon. I read the memoir of the pimp Iceberg Slim. I spoke to some women on the stroll, but there are no hookers left from the 1970s. I told Alison that I can’t do it, that Tillie is too far away. One night, I had a simple line, something like “The skinniest dog I ever saw was on the side of the Greyhound Buses.” I wrote all night and wound up with six pages. Tillie started whispering all this stuff to me: “I’m Rosa Parks. I’m black and on the pavement. I’m a chewing gum spot.” I wanted to get at Tillie, I wanted to get at a Walt Whitmanesque view of the city, to list all these people. That is what I do well, accessing “the Other.” I had some cops read the section. They said, “This is perfect. This is a woman we know.” Part of it was knowing that Tillie was telling her story from her prison cell, planning to commit suicide. That helped. I have to be careful, but I do think that this is my best piece of writing, the Tillie section.”

It is, it is, it is.  Read the book.

Standard

One thought on “McCann Gets It Right

  1. Pingback: The Best Advice Writers Will Ever Hear | Books Here And There

Leave a Reply

