Two Current Books

I feel a little guilty for not giving Walter Mosley’s novel Charcoal Joe a full review, although I’ve mentioned it in two posts.  If you want a full review, The Washington Post has one that corresponds to my opinion.  Go ahead and plunge into Easy Rawlins’ world, even if you’ve not been there before; you’ll soon find your way around.  You might even be tempted to stay a while.

Another new book I’ve just started reading is Lisa McInerney’s The Glorious Heresies, a debut novel about how a murder affects the lives of some down-and-out denizens of Cork, Ireland.  It’s too early for me to form a considered judgment, but McInerney’s cast of characters is believable, and her style matches the kind of tough, brutally-funny lives she’s writing about.  I think the early pages could have used a more careful going-over by McInerney’s editor, but I’m hopeful that the bobbles that shouldn’t be there–that are not part of the dialogue–will have been smoothed out by about halfway through the book.  I’ll have more to say when I’ve finished reading it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

