The Irrepressible Walter Mosley

Two new reads are at the top of my Kindle list:  book one of Ann Leckie’s complex space opera, Ancillary Justice; and the latest adventure of Detective Easy Rawlins in Charcoal Joe, written by Walter Mosley.

Mosley’s been around the block more than once in a lot of American cities.  He knows what goes on in the lives of the people who make this country what it is, and he’s so charming and disarmingly honest in his comments that one has to listen to him, regardless of one’s politics or economic background.  The recent interview he gave on the publicity tour for Charcoal Joe is vintage Mosley: sharp, provocative, generous, and real–just the qualities we want in our novelists.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Irrepressible Walter Mosley

  1. I’ve never been big on detective novels, but I just read his Guardian interview and I confess I’m intrigued by the man and I wouldn’t mind reading him. Any advice on where I should start? 🙂 Thanks, John.
    Similarly, I don’t know Ancillary Justice (I’ve got lazy lately, and I blame it on the holidays … and I’ve still got Greece to look forward to!), but complex space opera? Adding it ASAP 🙂
    I hope your summer is going well.

  2. I’d start with *Devil in a Blue Dress,* his most famous one. Since some of his Rawlins adventures are short stories, it’s kinda hard to figure out where one’s starting point should be.

    Leckie’s book was new to me, too. It’s the first book in a three-book series. The main character used to be a sentient space ship in the service of a great space dynasty that colonizes and rules every people it can lay hands on; now, she is a living being, a thousand years into the future, making her way through the same dynasty with her former ship captain in tow. (Beats me how the captain survived a thousand years: she was found derelict in the snow.) All the characters thus far are what we would call “female”; some of them may partake of the male gender, if it suits them, but so far that hasn’t happened. I was attracted to it because the book won the Nebula, Hugo, *and* the Arthur C. Clarke Awards for best novel. That tells me there’s got to be good stuff going on.

    Try not to fret. You’re the least lazy reader I know. If I had Greece to look forward to, I’d be lazy, too. Rereading parts of Gerald Durrell’s Corfu Trilogy recently inspired me to Google some beautiful pictures of the Greek Isles. That would be a lovely vacation if I ever wanted to get away from it all.

    My summer is going well. Juggling work and writing as usual, and trying to stay cool (so far, successfully.) Enjoy Greece, and take care of yourselves!

Leave a Reply

