“Oops, I Didn’t Mean It,” He Said

In his latest awkward moment, Gay Talese has reversed course, and said he didn’t mean what he said a few days ago about the unreliability of his source for his forthcoming book, The Voyeur’s Motel.

The key statement now:

“When I spoke to the Washington Post reporter, I am sure I was surprised and upset about this business of the later ownership of the motel, in the 80s,” he said. “That occurred after the bulk of the events covered in my book, but I was upset and probably said some things I didn’t, and don’t, mean.

“Let me be clear: I am not disavowing the book and neither is my publisher. If, down the line, there are details to correct in later editions, we’ll do that.”

So, as I suspected, Grove Press is publishing slipshod work because it needs to recover costs, and it figures a sizable portion of the reading public just won’t care about facts, truth, honesty, or integrity.  (We just make up all those things at our desks every day anyway, to amuse our bored selves.)  Talese better be happy with the second edition, too, because he’ll be the only one buying it.  What a farce.

[PS WordPress sent me an automated message this morning saying that the entry above is my 500th post on Books Here And There.  Yay for me, and thanks to all of you for reading!]

Standard

Leave a Reply

