Clearing Away The Clutter

Here’s an affectionate farewell to William Zinsser, the writer, editor, and teacher whose passing last week I noted in a recent post.  I had Zinsser’s command to “omit needless words” in my head over the last couple of days as I revised “Teaching The World To Sing.”  My efforts to follow Zinsser’s advice could be better than they are, but I do try to make those efforts, because Zinsser was right, and I honor his legacy.  As we clear away the clutter of our prose, we clear away the clutter in our minds and thus, to some degree, the clutter we’ve accumulated in our lives.  There’s an art to learning how to edit our prose, and there’s an art in teaching others how to do it.  Mark Singer’s essay offers us a view of how Zinsser did both.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Clearing Away The Clutter

Leave a Reply

